“I’m Not Crazy, I’m Ed.”

I’m Not Crazy

By Andrea N. Carr

“I see the facial expression of my profile picture change.”

He said to his Psychiatrist.

“It’s like the singing frog in the old cartoon,

whenever I try to show anyone else that it changes.”

Ed watched for recognition on her face.

“You know, like when the guy in the cartoon tried to prove to his friends

the frog really can sing.

But the frog does nothing in front of anyone else

and only performs for him.”

He shifted in the chair on the other side of the desk in her office.

“I’m not sure, if I’m hallucinating again or not because it’s so real.”

He paused. “You are sure I’m not part of

some experiment you’re involved in to gather research?”

Ed looked Maggie Croft directly in

her bright blue eyes, leaning closer to hear her answer

– barely managing to remain seated.

She’s not intimidated by me, he thought. She should be.

He could wipe the smug look off her face in an instant

– but he didn’t.

“I’m not crazy, Mag.” You aren’t as smart as you think you are.

“The only thing is it’s not necessarily provable.”

He considered her involvement in the information gathering and

what was happening with his profile picture; are they connected somehow?

“Who knows when my profile picture might want to smile; it can’t be predicted.”

He said, as if it was a brilliant explanation for his thoughts

about lacking the proof for his sanity.

Ed crossed his legs, bouncing his right foot rapidly

while it was hanging over his left knee.

“You know, I believe things have energy and computers

are no exception; they are being taught to think.

Those CAPTCHA codes for example, which stands for Catch A Lot of

People, Take Child Hostages Also.

We’re told to enter our answer to the cryptogram for

security reasons – all a lie. They’re being taught to think.”

“Who is being taught – us?”

“Our computers, who else? Are you listening?”

He scolded. “I just told you.”

“How so?” The doctor replied, taking rapid notes and not looking up

when speaking to him.

“Well, it’s given to us to read, scrambled purposely, so we have to figure it out.

That way, we help teach computers to think

– with the interpreted answer we provide into the

space.” He paused but she still didn’t look at him.

“Don’t you see?

Our interpreting for our computers is a brilliantly devised plan to

replace us.

Why else would it be scrambled? No other reasons than they need to know how

to help get rid of us and think like a human.

” The pen scratched across Maggie’s page.

Ed drummed his fingers on the arm of the chair in time to his bouncing foot.

“With technology being so advanced now, who knows what can be done with all the

gathered information.

Like the replicator in the old Star Trek series on TV – we can do that now.”

He paused to see if she would react.

“You must realize this is Nanotechnology, Maggie.

What we are told is nothing compared to the secret’s our

Government hides, all from what we can access.

They can’t go giving the general public any control over their secrets;

there’s no common use until the officials have better,

more advanced information.”

“Um hmm,” she said, looking at him briefly over the top of her reading glasses.

He was starting to think his doctor wasn’t so smart after, all.

Then she asked,

“How can this happen then?”

“I think someone may have made a mistake and lines got crossed.” Ed said,

Interrupting her.

How did she ever get to be a doctor being so stupid?

“Lines cross, you know.”

“Are you saying your profile picture’s changing facial expression is a crossed line?”

“I am saying,

I don’t know what it is but at least help me identify the possibility of it happening.

What else can I be paying you for it’s not to convince me,

I’m crazy?”