Book Yourself on Radio and Television | Search For Publishers

Source: Book Yourself on Radio and Television | Search For Publishers

Book Yourself on Radio and Television

Search for Publishers is a unique publishing directory that gives you access to some of the most dynamic book publishers who are currently seeking to develop new authors. It doesn’t matter whether you want to get a novel published, a non-fiction title, a children’s book, a cookbook, or any other book you can think of – Search for Publishers can provide a wealth of essential information to help you publish a book.

They asked for answers to questions on a provided form to fill out about my writing to match with a publisher. One of the questions: “What is your budget?”

I thought, publishers pay the author I felt confused and I was. I hate this type of advertising but, it is a resource website basically in their defense, anything more was all my doing from projecting on to them.

Not bashing this website however, this unclear and suggestive play on words contributes to why publishing is in a mess because, it is confusing as hell. What does a publisher or publishing company mean, when being used to describe a book services company. Apparently, the term publisher is not understood clearly by me and not what it used to mean. I don’t like not being clear with all of the choices I can make with publishing services offered now.

I have heard it’s a red flag when a publisher asks the author for money. Well not anymore apparently for self publishing, anyway. Reviews, followers and who knows what else is sold now also, whatever man. Read well authors, it’s complicated and hard to know what to do next if not paying real attention. It is costly deciding, to go with the wrong publisher or promotional services. Make sure you understand what, exactly, you are paying to get from them. Don’t be quick to hand over money; take time evaluate first.

How or where is the line drawn for an author, searching for publishers willing to pay them for marketable stories and books period. Alternately, the ability to pay a publisher for professional services that will help create one’s self published books and or promotions. They stand to make a lot more capital with services than with submissions only. I don’t blame them, it is what it has become.

The term publisher seems it’s used as a lure in my opinion. I still think, of a publishing company as an institution with literary merit that is accepting submissions without asking, what I can spend with them. I thought, I had just paired with a hook up to cut down the chase, finding the right publisher.  Wanting to pay me for writing with a passion for my style or something like that. Not pimp me out.

Perhaps, the case or my being naïve again. I filled out the form anyway, in spite of my dismay to see what happens next. I am still doing research on the publishing industry. To gain, the knowledge of experience for the future; making informed decisions about how and what to do with my coming titles. I hate self publishing because of the uncertainty I feel from, making stumbled upon decisions with missed information, mistakes or ignorance concerning my book titles. I didn’t see, all this coming in the beginning swayed by my emotional perceptions of my reality.

I don’t think, I like the fact that I need to pay for people to read my books, promote and network too instead of write. I am no longer into doing that anymore, I done that. Let’s be partners at least, invest in my book distribution and advertised exposure to the right audience. I can wait for payment, if necessary. I believe in the content I am offering from my stories and the ability to sell them. I can believe what I want, no one cares really.

The thing about standing out from the other titles, branding yourself properly is more than a one person job. This is where the use of experience in the publishing industry manipulations can help to move us forward. It hits, like a five-finger slap in the face to have to prove it. Without anyone willing to read my book.

I have not decided what else besides writing I can live labeled as or be doing with the passion I require, in order to get to the next level up and make myself stand out from others. With or without having the real help and belief in my work behind me from a publisher I feel, I deserve. Having the time to execute what I decide to do alone, no longer serves my needs.

Anyway, I read further.

I looked at their services offered from each publisher’s link there. They are all surprisingly different from each other. Then, I read the general advice given for writers that don’t cost anything, I can do for myself but, I am over that phase now. I could care less about advice anymore unless, I can see a clear plan, I believe is working in my favor and feel it in my gut.

I like this article below, because I have done such a thing against the advice of others. A long time ago, before I ever sold any books. I did everything too early, not late. I should have listened however, I don’t regret it. I wasn’t ready yet as an author knowing my brand. I didn’t think, I needed one back then. My writing would be enough, to conquer it all. My great story for the world to inspire compassion and realize the impact we have on each other.

I laughed after I read it because, I always knew what to do next from gut instinct when I found it. I made mistakes, for sure, I don’t care. I do not dwell in them, I moved on. There is always a way to do anything you set your mind to do. I realized something about myself, there is a limit on what I am willing to do and spend on my purpose in life. When others don’t recognize at first what I want or can do.

For example, I wanted to market my first book as self-help / philosophy. But, I was told “No” by my publishing staff because I need to have a PhD. for self-help categorization. Well guess what, not true. I believed them, resulting in my book not being targeted correctly in the beginning. They should have read my book before helping me. What reason would they care, if I make a mistake and put it there or not. I don’t even care why anymore, I didn’t have the knowledge to know, I was right and they were wrong to block me from doing what I wanted.

Actually this article inspired me even after, I was feeling misled again at the beginning. I made a sobering decision what to do next. Write, first and foremost now, this is what makes me happy. Leave the future alone. “When the student is ready the teacher will appear.” Focus on what is most important; not being right, wrong or distracted by everything else. Write.

.

By Gregg Sullivan
One of the most effective and inexpensive means to garner publicity for your book is through radio or television interviews. While a great number of methods and approaches can be employed, here are some basic steps for you to follow.
The first and most important step is to contact the correct people. In radio and TV, producers and hosts—the people in charge of booking—are always changing positions and jobs. So make sure your contact list is up-to-date. If you don’t have a reliable source, simply call the station’s main line and verify your contact.
Next, know your audience. If your book covers politics, the standard Howard Stern-type “zoo” radio program is clearly not as appropriate as a topical National Public Radio show. Or, if you’ve written a small mystery novel, you might try your local TV station rather than banking on a Good Morning America interview. There are great books at the library that list all of the different radio and TV shows around the nation. Use these books for research, create a contact list, and base your promotion efforts around this list.
Once your contacts are selected, this is how to approach them.
Don’t just send the producers or hosts a standard press release about the book with a “the author is available for interviews” note. Think about what you can successfully discuss about the catchiest and most appealing aspects of the book. Put together a letter or “interview advisory” with a prominent headline and let the producer know what the author has to offer. A good advisory should explain everything your contact needs to know about you and your book at-a-glance. One effective approach is to use bullet points. Line up information in a sharp and easily accessible way (eliminating the potential loss of key points while a producer “scans” a paragraph). Finally, make sure to prominently display your contact information—let them know how to contact you. If they contact you, be lively and lucid on the phone. This is often a preinterview, a test as to what kind of guest you will be. Remember, they are booking you, not the book.
The next question is when to send. Most broadcast publicity is centered near a book’s publication date, but different producers work on different lead times. Keeping these facts in mind, you should always send your advisory as early as possible. In general, mailing four weeks in advance is a good bet. And, if budget allows, it’s a good idea to send the book with the press material to TV outlets. The nature of TV requires more preparation, and sending the book can speed up the process.
Finally, you should follow up. Call the producers. Only call the host if there is no producer for that particular show. Ask whether they have received the materials and are interested. Many times, an unforeseen opportunity will arise in this conversation, allowing you to add a piece of information that opens the door to book the interview on the spot. For example, if the author was born in the station’s city, the producer will many times have more incentive to book the interview.
Your ability to book a radio interview or TV appearance depends on how well you’re able to sell yourself. Leave no stone unturned, but never, never hound your contacts. And don’t waste their time! If they don’t get back to you after three attempts, write them off and concentrate on your other outlets.