Apply or nominate a colleague for  a 2016 CLA award or scholarship

Dear Colleagues:

We are excited to honor the many accomplishments and achievements of our colleagues in the California library community. Just one week left to apply or nominate a colleague for a CLA award or scholarship this year.

The deadline for the awards and scholarships listed below is March 18, 2016 at 5:00pm PST. 

Please see below for more information about:

·       scholarships for students;

·       awards for support of literacy and intellectual freedom;

·       awards for excellence in technical services, technology and public relations; and

·       awards for exceptional service and contributions and support of the profession.

Thank you very much to our award sponsors and to all awards committee members.

Full information is available on scholarship and award pages of CLA’s website.

CLA awards and scholarships currently open for applications and nominations

The CLA Scholarship for Minority Students in Memory of Edna Yelland supports ethnic minority students in the attainment of a graduate degree in library or information science.

The Begun Scholarship supports continuing library school students who have demonstrated a commitment to becoming children’s or young adult librarians in a California public library.

The California Library Hall of Fame honors the historical significance and lifetime achievement of the many librarians, library workers, and supporters who have helped promote and improve library services in California.

The CLA Technical Services New Leader Award recognizes a new TSIG leader who has actively and enthusiastically embraced their role within the Technical Services Interest Group and CLA. Sponsored by Brodart.

The CLA Technical Services Award of Achievement recognizes colleagues who have made outstanding contributions in those area of librarianship that have been especially challenged by the need for innovation and adaptation in dealing with rapidly changing technology and work environments. Sponsored by OCLC.

The CLA Technology New Leader Award cultivates new leadership in the field of library and information technology. Sponsored by The Galecia Group.

The CLA Technology Professional Award acknowledges superior achievement in those areas of the library profession that encompass technology. Sponsored by Springshare.

The Outstanding Librarian in Support of Literacy Award recognizes and honors a librarian who has demonstrated passion, excellence, and dedication in support of adult literacy. Sponsored by BALit, SCLLN, and NCLC.

The PRExcellence Awards honor the highest quality efforts of California libraries in promoting and communicating their message.

The Zoia Horn Intellectual Freedom Award honors California people, groups, and organizations that have made significant contributions to intellectual freedom.

The CLA President’s Award recognizes outstanding contributions, leadership, and achievement in support of California libraries by a Trustee, Friend, Elected Official, or other lay person(s) who has given his or her time and talents to further the advancement of California libraries.

The CLA Member of the Year Award recognizes an individual member of the California Library Association for her or his outstanding contributions, leadership, and achievements in service to California libraries.



California Library Association

248 E. Foothill Blvd., Suite 101

Monrovia, CA 91016

Phone & Fax: (626) 239-1776



This email was sent to ‘’ from California Library Association.